get more fiber…

I have a dear friend in Canada who has recently gathered some creatures of the alpaca and llama variety to keep her dogs company. They’ve started an alpaca farm. Her photos of the alpacas, Dolly the Llama, her dogs, the farm, along with all her plantings… they all bring me joy. I love seeing what’s happening at Serendipity Farm. She has sent me some alpaca rovings and some other little treats from her place and a neighbor’s farm down the road.

pink luscious

Last month I received a package from her. I had been waiting on a custom dyed hank of alpaca wool for a special project. A mutual friend has breast cancer and has lost her hair. As it’s freezing in Missouri, she asked me to make her some hats to wear. I had some lovely silk and wool I found in Tucson, but Lizzie in Canada wanted to donate some alpaca to the effort. I’m totally excited to get started on this hat for Erin. We love Erin. She’s such a courageous person and seriously a badass when it comes to this chemo nonsense I truly celebrate her. Truly, I’m celebrating. She’s kicking ass so far and had her last chemo treatment a couple of weeks ago.

I have been working diligently on her other hats, but honestly, I’m a slow crocheter. I finished one in silk and wool and sent it off, but I have another two I’m working on–one cotton blend and another silk and wool. I’m so slow. I often frog a project because it doesn’t suit or there’s a row that’s not as even as I’d like it. This may make me inefficient, but I just can’t allow a gift to roll off my hook unless it’s of good quality. You don’t give your crappiest work away, you want your best stuff to go to those you care about. But I digress.

Along with this hank of yarn, Lizzie included a half dozen “locks” from another farm. These are dyed with food-grade dye and so vibrant! I feel very spoiled! Also in the parcel, she included a couple of pounds of raw fiber. My dog thinks it’s for him. He started climbing all over me and tried to get in the box and wants to rub all over the fur. It’s really quite a new behavior! hahaha I laugh just remembering his urgency to get in that box! As it is, I’m struggling to narrow down what to do with this largesse! I am excited to see what I can learn while trying to make something really incredible or will I just make some slippers?

Leave a Reply

